
Copyright © 2005 Naval Warfare Simulations 

 
 

Star Shell Addendum for 
Battleships Zenith/Dreadnoughts Rising 

 
Updated by William Miller on 12-14-2005 

 
Section 1 – Availability of Star Shells 

 
Star Shells were only used in WW1 by the German Navy from 1915 on and the Royal Navy in 
late 1917. All other navies did not develop workable/effective star shells until after WW1. 
 

Section 2 – Use of Star Shells 
 
Only the secondary or tertiary batteries on a BB, BC, or CA can fire star shell, while both the 
primary or secondary mounts/batteries on a CL or DD may do so. The secondary or tertiary 
battery (but not both) of any ship may illuminate a single target on each side of the ship, while 
either one or two targets may be illuminated by the main battery of a CL or DD - each target so 
illuminated requires the use of one main mount that can bear on the target, and these mounts may 
not be used for any gunnery attacks made while they are illuminating a target. Note that 
secondary/tertiary batteries do not suffer any loss of FirePower while they illuminate a target, but 
as an optional rule you may reduce the FirePower of the firing battery by (1D6+4) percent to 
reflect the slight reduction in FP caused by star shell use. 
 
Star shell may only be fired out to a range of 16 DU or 2/3 the maximum gun range, whichever 
is less. The majority of ships had sufficient star shell supply for each battery to illuminate a 
target for at least 10 turns: on the 8th turn of star shell use by any battery (or when the combined 
star shell use by the primary mounts total 8 turns of illumination) roll 2D6: add the result of this 
roll to 8 to determine the maximum number of turns the main mounts (or the secondary/tertiary 
battery combination) may illuminate a target.  
 
Example 1: A USN destroyer has fired 3 turns of illumination from its #1 main mount and 5 
turns from its #4 main mount – it has now fired a total of 8 turns of illumination and must now 
roll 2D6 to determine how many total turns the main mounts may illuminate. Assuming the 2D6 
roll was a 6, the main mounts can now illuminate for 8 + 6 = 14 turns total, or 6 more turns at 
most. 
 
Example 2:  An IJN BB has fired 4 turns of star shell from it secondary battery and 2 turns of 
star shell from its tertiary battery – its secondary/tertiary battery has now performed 6 turns of 
illumination combined, and thus can only fire two more turns of star shell before the owning 
player must roll 2D6 to determine the total time the combined batteries may fire star shell. 


